Wissahickon Board of Directors Meeting Agenda

Friday, August 9, 2024 Time: 9:00 a.m.

Work Mt. Airy, 6700 Germantown Ave., Level 1

Board Members Present: Rachel Loeper (President), Dan Pereira, Allora Buckshon (Treasurer), Erich Holland (Vice President), Rakiyah Abdul-Zahir, Ohenewaa White-Ra, Justin DiBerardinis, Shauna Mace Board Members Absent: Anthony Coughlin Staff Present: Kristi Littell, Adrienne Oliphant Guests Present: Jesse Bean

Welcome & New Member Vote

Board Members shared a highlight of their summer. Kristi reviewed the agenda and the goal of the meeting. Jesse shared the goal of the strategic planning process and opened with a "get-to-know-you" exercise

Connecting to Your Why

Kristi reviewed WCS's mission and the school's demographics. The board members were asked to journal about why they serve on the board. The board members shared what appeals to them, any challenges they noticed, and their goals for the next fiscal year. Kristi shared why she continues to work at WCS and what appeals to her about the work done at the school.

Strategic Plan Review

Jesse shared how we arrived at the decision to create a strategic plan. The purpose of the strategic plan is to help the school continue to be a great organization and develop a plan and concrete actionable goals for the next five years. Stakeholders including families, students and staff were engaged to provide feedback to help develop the plan. The goals of the plan and the timeline over the next five years were shared with the board. The board was asked to think about how they can best support the identified five priority areas.

Board Engagement and Committee

Board Affirmation Statement: Justin DiBerardinis led the motion to approve the Board Affirmation Statement. The motion was seconded by Erich Holland and approved unanimously.

New Board Member: Jason Manning is joining the board as its newest member. Allora Buckshon led the motion to nominate Jason Manning as a board member. The motion was seconded by Shauna Mace and approved unanimously.

Board Secretary Role: Rekiyah Abdul Zahir will be the board secretary. Daniel Pereira led the motion to approve Rekiyah Abdul-Zahir as board secretary. The motion was seconded by Ohenewaa White-Ra and approved unanimously.

June Minutes: The June minutes were approved. The motion to approve the June minutes was led by Justin DiBerardinis. The motion was seconded by Ohenewaa White-Ra and approved unanimously. **Board Member Update:** Farrell Sharkey stepped down as a board member at the end of July.

Board Committees and Members for 24-25: Shauna Mace will chair the Governance Committee. Rekiyah Abdul-Zahir and Justin DiBerardinis will serve with Shauna. Allora Buckshon will chair the Finance Committee. Erich Holland will serve with Allora.

Board Development Work

Kristi led a conversation framing the Development Work that the Board does.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:50 a.m.